15 minutes


2 violins, viola, cello

String Quartet No.1:

     I. David      

     II. Rhonda      

     III. Carolyn

Each movement of this work is my own musical interpretation of the personalities of three close friends. As well, being that this was a very early work of mine, one can hear the initial developments of my musical language.

  1. David – A brilliant person whose intellectual intensity is always immediately felt. At the same time, underneath that intellectualism is a compassionate soul who understands the profundity of the human condition.
  2. Rhonda – A profound human being full of emotional depth and sincerity.
  3. Carolyn – A fun-loving person who always appreciated a great joke or a funny moment between friends.

This work was awarded the following prize:

  • SOCAN Foundation’s 1999 Award for Young Composers (Canada)

Order score and parts here.